Re: touch pad question

Kay Malmquist

Hey Mike,
Many thanks for this.  I appreciate the long way because you do learn more that way.  When I was a trainer back in the day, instead of just giving people the hot keys or shortcuts I had them look through the menus to learn how to find things.  Of course, later on I showed them quicker ways to do things but I encouraged them to look around.  Again, thanks much for this.

Kay Malmquist
kay.malmquist@...

"Where focus goes, energy flows."
Bob Proctor

----- Original Message -----
Sent: Saturday, July 10, 2021 4:50 PM
Subject: Re: [TechTalk] touch pad question

Hi Kay,

Try the following:
1. Press, Windows key + I, to open Settings.
2. Tab 1 time to, System, now right arrow to, Devices, and press enter.
3. Tab 1 time to get into the category list and down arrow to, Touchpad, and press enter.  Here's where you'll find the settings you want.
You can press the Windows key or Windows key + Q to open a search field and type, touchpad, and press enter on Touchpad settings, but I gave you the long way to help you learn your way around a little bit.

Here's how to enable / disable the Function keys:
Below are steps on how to enable or disable the function keys.  Use step number 2 Via the Mobility Center, and I couldn't get my wife's to type numbers
when holding the FN key, but that doesn't mean it won't work on other Dell laptops, I don't know.  I checked these steps on my wife's Dell 7000 laptop
Windows 10 Home computer to make sure of their accuracy.

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/change-function-key-behavior-windows-laptops

Change Function key behavior in Dell laptops

One thing I did not like about my Dell Inspiron 15 7537
 Windows 8.1 laptop keyboard was the behavior of the Function and Multimedia keys – that is, the top most row in the keyboard. On my earlier Dell XPS,
I was used to pressing the key to activate the Function keys like F1, F2, etc, and to press Fn key + the F1, F2 key to activate the multimedia operations